My Marriage is like My Car

I have recently reached a significant milestone in my primary relationship and found myself contemplating its metaphorical state. To wit – what is my marriage like?

Answer: my marriage is like my car.

Once it was a wonderful and beautiful thing – my Jaguar. It made my heart sing every day. To drive it was bliss, to wash and polish it was an honour. To fill it with petrol alerted me to the envious glances of others. It was reliable, trustworthy, a thing of beauty, a thing of speed and comfort. It was something I treasured and loved and was proud to own.

Now it is past its best – it is showing signs of wear on the leather upholstery, a few scratches on the paint work that have not been attended to. It’s tyres need replacing. It has been superseded by later models. It won’t run true, it goes into fail-safe mode on a whim or a bump and needs  too much money spending on it too often.

But to replace it will cost so much and I am used to its idiosyncratic ways. I love its smell, its sound and I still love its style and elegance. In many ways it should be replaced – it is a drain on finances, I should have something reliable. I wished I cared about it as much as I did, that it filled me with as much warmth as it did. But replacing it would be too much of a wrench. I’m sure I’d always regret letting it go and surely if I just paid it a bit more attention, had its problems attended to it would last many more years?

What is your marriage like?

A fridge – cold and silent in the corner of the kitchen – messy with notes and magnets on the outside, too cool inside but still working well enough, something you take for granted?

A toaster – reliable, functional with a variety of temperatures and functions, a comfort to you but not really central to your well being?

A vacuum cleaner – purpose built, robust, takes on all comes and cleans up beautifully, essential to your sanity?

A garden full of beautiful flowers, well tended, watered and fertilised regularly so growth is assured, a place where you feel purposeful and peaceful as you dig in the dirt?

Or a tree – tall and strong, growing upwards and outwards every year – shading the surrounding area, looking after birds and other wildlife, a place for children to play, a swing. Something that gets better with age, remains a wonder to you, that always makes you feel wonderful.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “My Marriage is like My Car”

  1. Homepage Says:

    The article posted was very informative and useful. You people are doing a great job. Keep going. 260472

  2. wedding lago di garda Says:

    Hi, Neat post. Theres a difficulty together with your site in internet explorer, would test this IE nonetheless may be the market leader and a big portion of folks will miss your wonderful writing because of this difficulty. 604593

  3. wowgoldlvz Says:

    Keep up the good blogging! Much appreciated..

  4. seo Says:

    Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your post seem to be running off the screen in Opera. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know. The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue fixed soon. Kudos

    • jactherat Says:

      Hi – I’ve had words from others about issues in different platforms. Thanks – I’ll see if i can find out what the problem is. It seems you’re right – it’s to do with internet browser compatibility. The formatting is essentially automatic – I type into the box and it pops onto the screen without much interference from me!

Leave a Reply

