Vanity – mid-week poem

Is this then, the punishment for vanity?
For loving one part of my body too much
For showing it off
Flaunting it
Displaying it as often as I could
For gloating – secretly and out loud

So I have to lose it?
Is that it?
It has to go – because it was the favoured part
The choicest cut of flesh
The most caressed
Most admired
Most perfectly formed – useful part of me

Why me?
I have to ask – it is de rigueur –
make the plaintive cry.
Wonder what it was I did
and when
if I can go back again
to make the necessary amends

So that I can keep my breast
and not have my hair fall out, or my toe nails peel off
Not be poisoned by the chemicals too crude to heal
Not have the Devil spread throughout the entirety of
My body
as I fade and die slowly
in bits – bit by bit

So that I can live to see my children grow
into fine people
Strong Brave True.
Eternally loved by me
as I age and wither and decline
– over time, as it ought to be                                                                                                                  (Images from personal collection and courtesy Google images)

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Vanity – mid-week poem”

  1. sarah Says:

    How that resonates. From a survivor and also one who has stopped asking why, just gratitude to all who helped me battle. Thank you xx

    • jactherat Says:

      Indeed, there is no point in the why of it. Getting through it and living each day better is the thing. I really believe what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. Stay well.

Leave a Reply

